Georgetown University has established a Protection of Minors Policy to protect those under 18 years of age who participate in programs and activities associated with the University and to provide guidance to University students, faculty and staff who are involved with such programs and activities. Read additional information about the policy.

CSJ is committed to educating students about their obligation to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect that they may encounter while working in CSJ programs. The introductory training for CSJ programs includes information about campus and online resources for reporting, as well as University and District of Columbia requirements. Situations that may require reporting are difficult, and CSJ staff members are available as resources to provide guidance and support to students who believe they have encountered a situation that requires reporting.

If at any point a student has questions about his or her obligations or what to do in a particular situation, the student should contact their Program Director and/or the CSJ Associate Director, Ray Shiu. More information about CSJ’s reporting protocol. Questions about CSJ’s compliance with the Protection of Minors policy can be directed to CSJ’s Associate Director, Ray Shiu.

Students participating in CSJ-sponsored or –affiliated programs that work with minors must attend a Protection of Minors training on one of the dates below.  If you are unable to attend any of the following trainings, please contact CSJ’s Graduate Assistant for Training and Compliance as soon as possible. A good faith effort will be made to accommodate your scheduling requirements.

Training Schedule

September

September 5 (Wednesday) - 2:00 - 3:30 pm | ICC, Room 213 | Sign up for 9/5 Training
September 7 (Friday) - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm | ICC, Room 120 | Sign up for 9/7 Training
September 10 (Monday) - 3:30 - 5:00 pm | ICC, Room 116 | Sign up for 9/10 Training
September 13 (Thursday) - 1:30 - 3:00 pm | ICC, Room 101| Sign up for 9/13 Training
September 19 (Wednesday) - 4:30 - 6:00 pm | ICC, Room 119 | Sign up for 9/19 Training
September 21 (Friday) - 2:30 - 4:00 pm | White Gravenor, Room 211 | Sign up for 9/21 Training
September 24 (Tuesday) - 1:30 - 3:00 pm | ICC, Room 213 | Sign up for 9/24 Training
September 26 (Wednesday) - 10:00 - 11:30 am | Carn Barn, Room 201 | Sign up for 9/26 Training

October

October 1 (Monday) - 4:00 - 5:30 pm | ICC, Room 119 | Sign up for 10/1 Training
October 4 (Thursday) - 2:00 - 3:30 pm | Healy Hall, Room 105 | Sign up for 10/4 Training
October 10 (Wednesday) - 3:00 - 4:30 pm | Healy Hall, Room 104 | Sign up for 10/10 Training
October 12 (Friday) - 10:00 - 11:30 am | Healy Hall, Room 103 | Sign up for 10/12 Training
October 16 (Tuesday) - 1:30 - 3:00 pm | White Gravenor, Room 405 | Sign up for 10/16 Training
October 17 (Wednesday) - 2:00 - 3:30 pm | ICC, Room 213 | Sign up for 10/17 Training
October 22 (Monday) - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm | White Gravenor, Room 204 | Sign up for 10/22 Training
October 26 (Friday) - 2:30 - 4:00 pm | Healy Hall, Room 105 | Sign up for 10/26 Training
October 31 (Wednesday) - 10:00 - 11:30 am | Carn Barn, Room 201 | Sign up for 10/31 Training

November

November 5 (Monday) -  5:30 - 7:00 pm | ICC, Room 207B | Sign up for 11/5 Training
November 9 (Friday) - 2:00 - 3:30 pm | White Gravenor, Room 209 | Sign up for 11/9 Training
November 14 (Wednesday) - 3:30 - 5:00 pm | White Gravenor, Room 202 | Sign up for 11/14 Training
November 19 (Monday) - 10:00 - 11:30 am | ICC, Room 107 | Sign up for 11/19 Training
November 27 (Tuesday) - 1:00 - 2:30 pm | White Gravenor, Room 405 | Sign up for 11/27 Training

December

December 3 (Monday) - 2:30 - 4:00 pm | ICC, Room 119 | Sign up for 12/3 Training
December 7 (Friday) - 9:30 - 11:00 am | ICC, Room 217A | Sign up for 12/7 Training

Protection of Minors Certification and Assumption of Risk Forms

After completing CSJ's Protection of Minors training (see schedule above):

  1. Complete the Protection of Minors form.
  2. Complete the Assumption of Risk form.