An update on our conference

Dear Friend of the Justice in Jesuit Higher Education Conference,

We hope that this email finds each one of you healthy and safe. The National Steering Committee of the Justice in Jesuit Higher Education Conference is finalizing a compelling virtual program for June 2021. While we can not gather together in person, we hope that a virtual environment will allow for broad access to our proceedings. 

June 2021 Conference Plenary Sessions 

In order to prevent Zoom fatigue and to ensure wide participation of our vast community across time zones and academic calendars, the conference plenary sessions will be held virtually over 6 days (2.5 hours per day) over three weeks, from June 8 – 24, 2021. 

Mark your calendars now! Plenary sessions will be held during the time block of 2:00pm – 4:30pm EDT on the following dates.

Tuesday, June 8 and Thursday, June 10

Monday June 14 and Wednesday, June 16

Tuesday, June 22 and Thursday, June 24

These plenary sessions will prioritize a focus on the Universal Apostolic Preferences and the following themes: Racial Justice; Immigrant Justice; Ignatian Spirituality and Justice; Environmental Justice; and Women’s Leadership in Higher Education. Plenary sessions will be recorded and uploaded for public viewing online with the speakers’ permission. 

Conference Registration (free!)

Participants will need to register only once for the entire conference and there will be no cost or fee for registration. We hope that these  details — simplicity of registration and free access — will decrease barriers to access and financial burdens to our diverse institutions. Participants sign up/register at:

Accepted Roundtable, Workshop, and Poster Proposals

Detailed correspondence to the “Point of Contact” for each accepted roundtable, workshop, or poster proposal is coming very soon. We will offer each accepted proposal the opportunity to submit an updated contribution as a poster presentation that will be viewable online by all conference registrants during the month of June 2021 and then uploaded to the publicly accessible Georgetown University Institutional Repository for perpetuity. (Uploading for public access will be an option and not required.) We appreciate your patience as we work through the details of what is possible for the current context and the committee’s capacity. 

If you are the “Point of Contact” for your workshop/roundtable/poster proposal (or you are not sure you are the PoC!) and need a copy of that proposal, email to make that request.

Help us build a Soundtrack and Digital Photoalbum 

Please take a moment and submit suggestion(s) of songs to help us build a share-able Justice in Jesuit Higher Education soundtrack. What is your favorite protest song from the Civil Rights era? Do you have a “Church song” that uplifts the spiritual and religious call for justice? Is there a pop song that lends itself to a message of radical love and solidarity? Share with us! On this Google Form, you can also upload images from previous Justice conferences and from your institution engaging in the Jesuit mission of social justice. Thank you for helping us create a community-sourced digital presence for our conference. 

If you have any questions or feedback for the National Steering Committee, please reach out to us at


Mike Duffy, University of San Francisco

Joe Orlando, Seattle University

National Steering Committee co-chairs

Joe DeFeo, Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities

Susan Harmaan, Loyola University Chicago

Erika Kirby Creighton University

David Opitz, Loyola University Maryland

Paola Pascual-Ferra, Loyola University Maryland

Julia Vargas, Rockhurst University

Andria Wisler, Georgetown University

Naomi Yavneh Klos, Loyola University New Orleans

National Steering Committee members